Railroad Forums 

• School Train Clubs

• A forum for teen railroad enthusiasts
A forum for teen railroad enthusiasts

Moderator: TAMR213

#110069  by capltd29

Hey,

My High School is in the process of getting a Teen Railfan club started, My band director and english teacher are Planning on sponsoring it, there are a few other students besides me that are planning on participating.

Does anybody else have such a club?

Jon Parker

#110193  by M630

Eau Claire [WI] Memorial HS has one...

#140660  by Njt4300

My school does not have a Train club but I am trying to get one.
 #148638  by vector_one75

While I'm now far away in both time and distance, back in 1968-72 I used to be a math teacher at the Polytechnic Preparatory Country Day School in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn, and being a railfan myself and a number of students who were interested they formed a railroad club which I wound up being the faculty liaison for the club. One of the suudents' gransfathers had a layout which he donated and was put into a rear alcove of my homeroom and plans were made for expansion.

We also had trips on tains as well, the most memorable being a trip to Philadelphia on the (by then RDC-equipped) "Crusader" (Jersey Central / Reading Route) to Philadelphia and back on a Metroliner, with a trolley run with both subway-surface and street running in between. Between school and Newark of course we had the usual subway run and the PATH train as well, and subway back from Penn Station. There were about 20 students, as I recall, and another teacher accompanied as well.