Railroad Forums 

• NJT engineer looking to move south

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#648743  by njtengr74

Im currently a locomotive engineer for new jersey transit, I contacted tri-rail about transfer or other employment. They simply shrugged me off and said there is no jobs at all....Any truth to this??? help a fellow enrg out....thanks for any posts
 #648789  by Noel Weaver

Tri-Rail does not employe the engineers and conductors but this is farmed out to a contractor. Their pay is nowhere near
what NJT pays and the operating crews are not even under Railroad Retirement. It is not a place that I would want to work
if I had already paid into the Railroad Retirement fund. The crews here are under the same "goldfish bowl" that they are
everywhere else.
I don't think they are hiring at present and unless there is an expansion in service in the future, I do not think the future is
too bright either.
My advice to you is to STAY PUT.
Noel Weaver
 #648791  by njtengr74

thank you for the post reply....how about amtrak????any other rail companies you might know of worth a look at?? Thank you for your time.
 #649189  by Jtgshu

njtengr74 wrote:thank you for the post reply....how about amtrak????any other rail companies you might know of worth a look at?? Thank you for your time.
Whooohooo!!! Move up!!! :) hahahaha Just kidding njtengr74 - well not really :)
 #649282  by slchub

Go to the Amtrak website and look for the jobs down south. You just missed a great opportunity within the past few years to basically slide on over to Amtrak without having to place a lot of time in the training seat as a re-entry engineer. Now you'll spend 8 weeks in Delaware and do your time to satisfy the federal requirements for a student engineer.