Railroad Forums 

• Transitioning to a Career in the Railroad Industry as a Mechanical Engineer

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1525383  by twillkickers

I am a mechanical engineer with a few years of experience in manufacturing (metals fabrication & steel mills.) However, my true passion has always been transportation and I would like to move into a career in the rail transit industry. I have applied to a number of openings at Amtrak, New Jersey Transit, NY MTA, SEPTA, and others, but I never seem to hear back. I did have a screening call with Amtrak HR a couple weeks ago, but I have not heard back - even though I expressed sincere interest in the position. I know networking and knowing people can be very important when looking for jobs, but I don't know anyone who is in this type of business. Does anyone have advice on getting my foot in the door to these companies? Are there any job fairs that might help? Should I emphasize any particular skills on my resume?
 #1528012  by Engineer Spike