Railroad Forums 

• Norfolk Southern hiring question

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

#1464011  by johnnycochran45

I recently applied for an operations supervisor trainee position with Norfolk Southern in Macon, GA. I am a US Navy veteran, retiring after 21 years and some change. I had the initial phone/online hiring brief back in October 2017 where they went over the outline of the company, job description, Q&A session, etc. After that, I had a phone interview in early November which went quite well and the recruiter told me they were anticipating me going to the July 15th, 2018 class. I was initially told I would hear something in the following two weeks for flying down to Macon for face-to-face interviews. After a month went by, I emailed the HR person and was told there were currently no interviews scheduled in Macon, but that could change early in the new year. I was also told I was "still in the pipeline for the July 2018 class". The last contact was in December. I sent another Email in February just to follow up and keep the lines of communications open and It has been radio silence since. So my question is, can anyone tell me if this is normal? I've heard they take their sweet time during hiring and I really want this job. But I also don't want to pass up other opportunities waiting on a job that never materializes. Any help or insight anyone could provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
 #1464220  by Acela150

If you weren't applying to be a Trainmaster you'd get answers on your questions. Good luck telling someone how to do their job without doing it yourself.
 #1464846  by Gadfly