Railroad Forums 

• LVRR train for Ingersoll-Rand employees

• Discussion related to the Lehigh Valley Railroad and predecessors for the period 1846-1976. Originally incorporated as the Delaware, Lehigh, Schuylkill and Susquehanna Railroad Company.
Discussion related to the Lehigh Valley Railroad and predecessors for the period 1846-1976. Originally incorporated as the Delaware, Lehigh, Schuylkill and Susquehanna Railroad Company.

Moderator: scottychaos

#1150421  by blackdiamond

When I worked as an extra-board agent/operator for the Lehigh Valley Railroad in the early 1970's, a long-time LVRR coworker once told me about an employee-only passenger train that the railroad had operated in the Easton, PA/Phillipsburg, NJ area for local Ingersoll-Rand employees, very early in the twentieth century. According to her, the train would commence its run on the LVRR's South Side branch in Easton in the morning, stopping to pick up the neighborhood's Ingersoll-Rand employees at various locations along the local streets, much in the manner of a streetcar. After collecting its full complement of I-R workers, the train would enter the LVRR mainline west of Easton, proceed eastbound to Easton, connect to the Jersey Central, cross the Delaware River bridge, traverse the Central mainline to that road's branch into the Phillipsburg Ingersoll-Rand plant, and travel that branch into the plant, where it would deposit its passengers. The entire process would be reversed at the end of the work day.

I have never found anything in print about this train, nor have I ever seen or heard any mention of it and I am wondering if anyone else out there has?

Thanks for you time.
 #1156691  by wis bang