LOOKING FOR A LOCO BUILDER, FOR A new switch engine

All about locomotive rebuilders, small locomotive works, and experimental works

Moderator: Komachi

User avatar
GOLDEN-ARM
Posts: 2763
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:53 pm
Location: " LVRR CRANFORD STATION, 1962"

LOOKING FOR A LOCO BUILDER, FOR A new switch engine

Post by GOLDEN-ARM » Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:34 pm

I am wondering, how many folks out there are building new locos. I have been approached by an industrial rail operator, who is interested in purchasing a new loco, not re-manufactured, in the 100 ton range, around 1000 HP. He prefers diesel/electric. Loco will controlled with a "conventional" cab set-up, no remote operations needed. Any info is appreciated. GE and EMD are not an option, so please don't offer those two names. Regards :wink:

pugsley720
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:19 pm
Location: Northcentral PA

Post by pugsley720 » Sat Aug 20, 2005 6:03 pm

Only one I can think of would be Brookville Mining Equipment, has a long history of building "critters" for the mining industry. They do show a locomotive about the size you are looking for on their website.

http://brookvilleequipment.com/index.htm

DutchRailnut
Posts: 22255
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 8:02 pm
Location: released from Stalag 13

Post by DutchRailnut » Sat Aug 20, 2005 8:02 pm

Brookville built 2 critters for Metro North, the DES70b.
A 70 ton 800 hp two axle switcher.
Image
If Conductors are in charge, why are they promoted to be Engineer???

Retired Triebfahrzeugführer. I am not a moderator.

Realityrail

Post by Realityrail » Thu Aug 25, 2005 4:40 pm

National Railway Equipment is scheduled to unviel there new switcher this week or next. It is said to be a "new" unit, with a center cab and two engines. Runor has it that it will use one engine until the demand for more horsepower is detected (probably by throttle position and motor load), at which time the second engine will start and come on line automatically.

UP os said to be the first customer. Sounds like something from the movie "Back to the Future!"

User avatar
GOLDEN-ARM
Posts: 2763
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:53 pm
Location: " LVRR CRANFORD STATION, 1962"

Post by GOLDEN-ARM » Sat Aug 27, 2005 6:19 pm

Thanks guys, for your continued offerings, on this topic. When the customer decides to purchase, I will post his info, and where you can photo his new engine, when he gets it. You will actually be able to say "I "sold" him that engine", as he has no idea that anyone is offering new stuff. Regards :wink:

Hoosier Joe
Posts: 96
Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 11:41 pm
Location: Decatur,In.

Post by Hoosier Joe » Sun Sep 04, 2005 7:24 pm

Last week I saw an ad for a new industrial switcher on the Trains forum. Looked like it weighed around 25 tons and is battery powered.Anybody else see the ad ? Joe

westernrrtx

Post by westernrrtx » Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:12 pm

Lookup the posts on the green goat and check out their web site.

wess

Post by wess » Mon Jan 09, 2006 4:34 pm

If anyone is building one, would there be a choice as to powerplant Like a ALCO 539 or 251?

Alcoman
Posts: 1438
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere

Post by Alcoman » Sat Jan 14, 2006 12:05 pm

I would think that NRE would be a good choice for a brand new switcher in the 1,000 hp range using the Alco 6-251. The catch might be to meet EPA Tier II requirments since it is not clear if FM/Alco is working on bringing up the Alco engine to those specs.
NRE has all the means of producing an end cab switcher since they have all the ALCO drawings including the T-6 which I am sure could be used as a starting point.
Of course, my question is how many are you willing to buy since the engineering , manufacturing costs,etc would be quite high for a single unit.
It would be nice to see a "new" switcher be built, BUT, the cost would be too high to justify it unless you could find alot of customers willing to pay alot of money for a new unit vs a used or rebuilt unit.
I think the reason EMD and GE stopped making switchers was that the cost was equal to that of a road unit.

rail21
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: Langley

Post by rail21 » Sat Jan 14, 2006 7:33 pm

Golden Arm Go to www.jlconsulting.ca and contact me. I have some info for you that I can E-mail. Thanks

pablo
Posts: 1477
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:58 am
Location: Warren, PA

Question...

Post by pablo » Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:28 am

I am completely ignorant of the specifics of building a new locomotive. Someone help.

Why would a substantially smaller locomotive (say, the T6 mentioned above) be as expensive to build as, say, a C630? I'm thoroughly confused about this.

I can understant engineering and design costs, but once the unit starts getting constructed, that should significantly change things. And yes, I know the more that get built, the cheaper the R&D costs become.

Can someone help me out?

Dave Becker
~Dave Becker
Moderator: Fairbanks-Morse Forum

Alcoman
Posts: 1438
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere

Re: Question...

Post by Alcoman » Mon May 29, 2006 7:33 pm

pablo wrote:I am completely ignorant of the specifics of building a new locomotive. Someone help.

Why would a substantially smaller locomotive (say, the T6 mentioned above) be as expensive to build as, say, a C630? I'm thoroughly confused about this.

I can understant engineering and design costs, but once the unit starts getting constructed, that should significantly change things. And yes, I know the more that get built, the cheaper the R&D costs become.

Can someone help me out?

Dave Becker
I can give you a simple answer to the above:Labor
Labor is the same regardless of locomotive size and since you make more money(profit) on a C636 than a T-6, you are able to get a quicker return on the investment.
I hope this helps.
Alcoman

2spot

Post by 2spot » Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:57 pm

Probably not inportant anymore, but Brandt Roadrail Corporation has a 1050HP Cat powered diesel electric "Power Unit"(switcher) available. Its UGLY but seems like a decent industrial switching solution. http://roadrail.brandt.ca/products.php? ... oduct_id=7

Alcoman
Posts: 1438
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere

Post by Alcoman » Wed Jun 21, 2006 5:13 pm

There are plently of switchers out there for sale. Look in Railswap under locomotives.

2spot

Post by 2spot » Wed Jun 21, 2006 10:03 pm

Hi, John. The specification Golden Arm originally was looking for was a new loco builder to build a 1000HP 100 ton diesel electric locomotive. Of course that was back in August of last year, so while I dont think anybody cares by now, I thought I'd throw this recent find in the mix in case anyone is still looking. I agree that searching for a new 1000HP switcher doesnt make much sense considering whats available used.

Return to “Rebuilders & Smaller Locomotive Works”