• DC area railfanning

• Discussion pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and Washington, D.C.
Discussion pertaining to all railroading subjects, past and present, in Delaware, Maryland, Virginia and Washington, D.C.

Moderator: therock

by BuddSilverliner269

Hello everyone. Im an Amtrak engineer and was wondering when I have my layovers in DC, what kind of freight action can I see? How many freighst a day go thru DC and where are the best places to see them?I know the Old Conrail Landover Line comes of the NEC at Landover but how much action goes thru there?How many freights a day go thru Silver Springs Md? I took the Metro Red Line a few days back and I see Marc provides service and Im guessing this is a CSX main as well? Forgive my ignorance of the DC area and lack of train knowledge of the area. Im only qualified on Amtraks NEC and not on any CSX lines nor do I run any MARC lines.I appreciate any help anyone provides.
  by roberttosh

Not sure how the economic slowdown has effected train counts, but the line that goes right through the downtown area by the Capital is CSXT's North-South I-95 mainline. Others probaly have a better idea of exact train counts, but in good times I'm guessing that line sees 14-18 freight trains per day. One good spot is the L'Enfant Plaza train station right down town and another is the Alexandria, VA Amtrak station. Just north of DC, the I-95 line joins the CSXT East-West main to Baltimore so train counts are quite a bit higher on that line just not sure where to railfan that line. Hope that helps some.
  by atsf sp

roberttosh wrote:One good spot is the L'Enfant Plaza train station right down town
I have to agree on this one. VRE and CSX go through here. Plus the Tropicana juice train goes through here. The Metro is a block away and so is the Washington Mall if that interests you. A lot of trains.
  by SurlyKnuckle