Discussion relating to the past and present operations of the NYC Subway, PATH, and Staten Island Railway (SIRT).

Moderator: GirlOnTheTrain

by Love Train

I looked at the trackmap detail on nycsubway.org of the pre-Chrystie St connector track arrangement. It showed the south side of the bridge being connected to the (current) J/M/Z lines, and the north side being connected to the (current) N/Q lines. But what about Grand St? Did the tracks just end south of Grand St with no connection to anywhere?

Before this connector, did all 6th Av trains run on the Culver Line? But what used the West End line? I know the B used to run on it, and now the D, but those routes both use(d) the Manhattan Bridge.

I have little knowledge of the Subway in the mid-1900s, so I would like further clarification.

by BMT Standard

You can probably find a lot of what you're looking for on nycsubway.org, but briefly, prior to 1967, there were no tracks under Christie St. Grand St. station opened with the connector. There also were no 6th Ave express tracks between W 4th and 34th.

There were three services on the 6th Ave line up until 1967:
BB: Rush hours only, local, 168th St Washington Heights to 34th St.
D: All times, 205th St Concourse to Coney Island via Culver line.
F: All times, 179th St Jamaica to Broadway-Lafayette (weekedays, turned at 34th St nights and weekends).

by Phil Hom

Get Peter Dougherty's book "Tracks of the New York City Subway" ($37.00?).

It will clear up some of your inquiries.

by Love Train

BMT Standard wrote:You can probably find a lot of what you're looking for on nycsubway.org, but briefly, prior to 1967, there were no tracks under Christie St. Grand St. station opened with the connector. There also were no 6th Ave express tracks between W 4th and 34th.

F: All times, 179th St Jamaica to Broadway-Lafayette (weekedays, turned at 34th St nights and weekends).