• Is the Commuter Rail "Inequitable"?

• Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.
Discussion relating to commuter rail, light rail, and subway operations of the MBTA.

Moderators: sery2831, CRail

by Arborwayfan

Hmm. I can see that crossing all the tracks would gum everything up pretty good. And it would happen even if a train went into South Station from Worcester and then changed ends to run out on the cape main. So much for that idea.
  by BandA

Could have standards or systems that allow faster switching into the station. Could rebuild the South Station "under", which would theoretically double the number of trains that could platform or half the interference. Could build a flyover somehow, or a cross-under near the Orange Line incline.
  by jbvb

Among other things, I was a high-tech hiring manager in Metro Boston most of the time between 1981 and 2014. The only site I ever worked at whose parking lot could hold one car for everyone who could work in the building was off Dedham St. by I-95. But there I still had 3-4 employees who walked more than a mile from Rt. 128 because they hadn't saved up enough for a car, or couldn't park it where they lived. Every time I offered an interview to someone, I was thinking about their likely commute, whether there was a T alternative to driving etc. If the commute was going to be bad enough, they might not accept an offer, or they'd have to move fairly soon after they started. Every time I worked on a company move I had to consider who I'd lose because of their new commute routing.