• UNION MEMBERSHIP

• General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.
General discussion about working in the railroad industry. Industry employers are welcome to post openings here.

Moderator: thebigc

by USMCConductor

Hello everyone,
I am currently in my 3rd week of Conductor Training at the REDI. I am looking for opinions on the United Transportation Union vs the Brotherhood Of Locomotive Engineers And Trainmen unions. Which one is better if any? Advantages and disadvantages to each. Any insight or suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I am new to the whole union thing. Thanks in advance.
  by Engineer Spike

I would go with the one which holds your contract. If you join the BLE, but work as a conductor, and UTU holds the contract, you will have no vote.

Some base the decision on the ability of the local leadership. No matter what you decide, it is also about what YOU put into it. It is similar to Kennedy's Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country.
  by slchub

I agree with Spike. Go with the union that holds the contract for your craft (UTU for conductor, BLET for engineer). If you go to an investigation (railroad lingo for deposition/court hearing by the railroad to determine if one should be suspended or allowed to go back to work for a rule infraction, etc.) you'll be represented by your local chairman of the UTU or BLET. You can join either union, but if you get in trouble the union that holds the contract will represent you. Kind of gets sticky when you are a conductor and belong to the BLET. It does not make sense right now, but just stick to the union for your craft. It is not a matter of which is better but which represents you and the contract signed by the carrier (railroad).

Your instructor will not mention either one as they are being an impartial body to the decision.
  by COEN77