• Brightline (All Aboard Florida) Orlando - Miami FL FEC fka Virgin Rail

• This is a forum for all operations, both current and planned, of Brightline, formerly All Aboard Florida and Virgin Trains USA:
    Websites: Current Brightline
    Virgin USA
    Virgin UK
This is a forum for all operations, both current and planned, of Brightline, formerly All Aboard Florida and Virgin Trains USA:
Websites: Current Brightline
Virgin USA
Virgin UK

Moderator: CRail

by D.Carleton

As a resident I sincerely hope Professor Norman is wrong. However, the facts are the facts. An equipment (rolling stock) builder was to have been chosen in December: Didn't happen. The estimate has grown from $1 billion to $1.5 billion. The proposed track between Cocoa and MCO has become a political football. What few things I have heard from an otherwise silent camp do not make much sense.

I do believe FECI entered this with the best of intentions with an eye to running passenger trains but may have bitten off more than they can chew.
  by NE2

Gilbert B Norman wrote:Lest we forget, volks, that in order for there to be a State funded passenger train in Florida, under existing law, any county it operates through must impose a dedicated tax to participate in its funding.
Which law is this?
  by Gilbert B Norman

Mr. NE, to my best knowledge, there is Florida law requiring that, in order for to be State level funding of rail transportation, any county through which such train would operate must impose a tax, which can be ad-valorem (property) or excise (sales), but not income as Florida does not have such. This why there has never been Tri-Rail service into Martin County, which is immediately North of Palm Becah, as Martin residents (Fox News watching train hating varietal) have not been willing to impose any such tax on themselves.